Share This

About Education Austin

Education Austin is the the labor union for certified and classified employees of the Austin Independent School District. Created in 1999 from the merger of the NEA-affiliated Austin Association of Teachers (AAT) and the AFT-affiliated Austin Federation of Teachers/Allied Education Workers (AFT/AEW), Education Austin is the first merged local in Texas and is affiliated with the NEA, AFT, TSTA, Texas AFT, and the AFL-CIO. It is by far the largest organization for AISD employees. Education Austin was first elected the consultation agent for AISD employees by the employees themselves in 1999, and was re-elected as consultation agent in 2003 and 2007. Education Austin’s full-time president is Ken Zarifis; its full-time vice-presidents are Montserrat Garibay (certified employees) and Trasell Underwood (classified employees); its  secretary is Anna Valdez (Wooten Elementary) and its treasurer is Karen Barnes (Nelson Field/North Bus Terminal). 

National Education Association (NEA) is a National public education union founded in 1857 that currently has 2.7 million members and represents employees in public schools and in higher education. NEA’s President is Dennis Van Roekel.

Texas State Teachers Association (TSTA) is a Texas public education union created in 1880 and affiliated with the NEA. TSTA currently has about 65,000 members. TSTA’s President is Rita Haecker and Vice President is Noel Candelaria.

American Federation of Teachers (AFT) is a National public education union founded in 1916 that currently has over 1 million members and represents employees in public schools and higher education as well as nurses and public employees. AFT’s President is Randi Weingarten.

Texas AFT is a Texas public education union created in 1974 and affiliated with the AFT and the AFL-CIO. TFT currently has about 50,000 members. TFT’s President is Linda Bridges and Secretary-Treasurer is Louis Malfaro.

American Federation of Labor-Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO) is the voluntary federation of America's unions, representing more than 8 million working women and men nationwide. The AFL-CIO was formed in 1955 by the merger of the American Federation of Labor and the Congress of Industrial Organizations. The AFL-CIO’s President is Richard Trumka.